Mayor:  Dan O’Leary

Councilmembers:  Mike Hovey, Shari Hansen, and Ginny Beckett

City Clerk:  Cathy Iago

Planner: Lori Johnson

City Attorney:  Tim Kuntz

    Councilmember Steven Bulach was absent.


1.   CALL TO ORDER:  Mayor O’Leary called the meeting to order at 8:20 p.m.  

2.  EVALUATION AND DISCUSSION OF CITY CLERK CANDIDATES: Mayor O’Leary reviewed his notes from interviews he conducted with each of the City Clerk candidates.  He also read an email from Councilmember Bulach related to the interviews he and Councilmember Beckett conducted with each of the candidates and which contained his recommendation for hiring.

Councilmember Beckett reviewed the interviews she conducted with Councilmember Bulach and each of the candidates and provided those present with her recommendation for hiring.

There was discussion regarding the background, experience and attributes of each candidate.  Also discussed was an appropriate salary range for the position, and the next steps for offering the position to the preferred candidate.

Clerk Iago suggested that Council return to the open meeting and ask the candidates to give a brief background presentation so that the two Councilmembers that had not been present for the interviews could get an impression. She asked the City Attorney if this could be done and Attorney Kuntz responded yes.

Council returned to the meeting at 9:20 p.m. and Mayor O’Leary asked each candidate to provide some job experience and background information for Councilmembers Hovey and Hansen.

Council returned to the closed meeting at 9:40 p.m. and discussed the process for extending an offer to the preferred candidate.  Council indicated that they would direct the Mayor to make a conditional offer to the preferred candidate upon returning to the regular meeting and that a formal appointment would be made at the Council meeting held on January 3, 2023.

Mayor O’Leary asked if there were any further questions or comments and there was no response.

Council returned to the open meeting at 9:45 p.m.

____________________________                              ________________________________

Catherine Iago, City Clerk                                             Dan O’Leary, Mayor